Woodworking

November 9, 2009

Cutting Board with rocks and glass

  • Serving Board
  • Walnut and Maple with inlaid stones and glass
  • Approx. 8″ x 14″

Creating illusions with paint is my thing. But I’ve always enjoyed functional crafts too. I taught pottery for years and have been known to weave. Now, I’m playing with wood. The woodworking class meets every Wed. night at the high school shop, where I’m guided through projects by a patient, game and excellent instructor named Jay Hundley.  I wanted to try inlaying rocks and glass in wood. The rocks, Rob and I purchased at the only rock shop we could find along eastern Oklahoma’s Hwy 59. The glass beads are from the Marble Factory in Bonner Springs. Maple and walnut slabs were taped together before an organic cut was made with a band saw. Initially I used a dremel tool, but quickly switched to a router to make a bed for the rocks and glass inlays. After the epoxy has dried, the glass and rocks can be run through the sander. I learned to do it slowly, taking my time, because rocks and glass  will overheat and crack.

The two pieces of trim wood from this project gave me the material for a baguette board seen below. Both projects were finished using tung oil.
Serving Board with Glass Inlay

  • Baguette board
  • Walnut and maple with inlaid glass bead
  • Approx 4″ x 14″

Leave a Reply

