A Blues Story

September 30, 2009

One Cig
One Cigarette in the Ashtray

My husband is a fan of the blues. We’d been to hear k.d. lang singing Patsy Cline tunes while I was working on a series of blues paintings. This three part painting was inspired by one of her cigarette songs.  Cigarettes and depression seem to go hand in hand in blues tunes.

Following is poem inspired by this painting. Feel free to submit your own.

One Cigarette in the Ashtray

Late at night
I comfort a friend
by love abandoned.

We light two cigarettes.

Drinks and stories shared
in smokey haze

coerce my heart into
a lover’s daze.

Suddenly,
two cigarettes in the ashtray
turn to three.

Old love appears
and begs to stay.
I witness metamorphosis
as the heartsick is steered
from sad to gay.

Transformation complete,
a look of thanks
and they’re gone.
I sit alone__
sipping coffee, bittersweet,

one cigarette in the ashtray.

by Nancy Marshall

Or a second version:

One Cigarette in the Ashtray

Late, I comfort one abandoned by love.

Our depressions match hand in glove.

Stories shared in smoky haze

Hearts drift into a lovers’ daze.

But the old love appears, begs to stay,

sits that cigarette in the ashtray.

Metamorphosis witnessed, the lovers agree

to try again for harmony.

A smile, a thanks, a brief goodbye,

I sip my coffee and stare outside.

2 Responses to “A Blues Story”

  1. Bob McLaughlin said

    This is a fabulous collection and quite interesting to read all the comments. I did not know you were such a poet and some of the insights are facinating. I’ve also called Barb for many years my queen. Sisters is in your private collection?

    Tell Robbie to be careful chopping that wood. Best to you all, Bob

    • nlmstudio said

      Sister Cities commissioned the painting, “Sisters”, for a fundraising auction. Don’t have the name of the owner but have seen the painting on display at Sister cities events.

      Your holiday card was a big hit with the kids. And I’ll pass the word to Rob. Best to you two too, N

Leave a Reply

