Night Blooming Cactus

August 30, 2009

Night blooming Cereus

Night Blooming Cereus

  • Oil on Canvas
  • In the Paley collection

Memory fails me when I try to recall who gave me this plant (a cereus type, perhaps lemaireocereus thurberi?). No other plant gives me cause to throw a sunrise party.  When there’s a bloom, the party starts about 6am with donuts and coffee. By 9am, the flower begins to wither. Twenty-plus years ago my neighbor, Julia, Laura and I stayed up all night taking time-lapse photos of the flower opening.

This painting sets the cactus above the Missouri River with the full moon setting.

One Response to “Night Blooming Cactus”

  1. severnyproductions said

    cool image

Leave a Reply

