Raven, Blueberries and Cherries

August 19, 2009

Raven on Red Bowl
Raven, Blueberries and Cherries

  • Mixed Media
  • 5″ x 7″
  • In the collection of CM, Topeka, KS

The media for “Raven, Blueberries and Cherriesl” include watercolor, pastel, pen and ink, and acrylic on Ampersand’s Aquabord.

Ravens are a favorite bird, intelligent and resourceful. I keep a copy of Bernd Heinrich‘s book “Mind of the Raven” around.

Favorite Raven Story: I know I’ve written this story somewhere else in my blog, but as my grandfather told my father when he had repeated one of his stories and been reminded of it, “I like telling this story.”
Standing in line at a local grocer I asked the checkout clerk if she had any bird stories as I was collecting them. The fellow behind me said he had one. While living in Alaska the previous winter he’d watched the ravens take turns covering the solar cells for the town’s street lights with a wing, thus keeping the lights turned on and providing a source of warmth for the flock.

Leave a Reply

