Gardner House Museum Opening Reception

July 5, 2009

Relaxing after setting up the exhibit

Relaxing after setting up the exhibit

Until September 5, 2009, there will be an exhibit of paintings and prints along with 2 drawings by my niece, Brooke Lehenbauer, in my hometown, Palmyra, MO, at the Gardner House Museum. Here I’m pictured with cousins, sisters and grand-nephew.  The sweet women in the group create vectors in response to my statement that  “It’s all about me.”

Nancy, Elizabeth, Emma Jo, Rita

Nancy, Elizabeth, Emma Jo, Rita

What a treat to visit with my parents’ friends and to see my godmother, Emma Jo. Ever supportive, she said, although she still drives, that she would have crawled to get to this show. Boy do I feel loved!

Suzie works her magic

Suzie works her magic

My brother, Brent, and both of my sisters, Sue and Deana, worked to make my visit and the reception perfect. Sue, who owns an event decorating business, Dream Makers, is superb at creating something special and she did it for me.

Alicia and Nancy

Alicia and Nancy

As a kid, Alicia was my hip friend from the city, who visited her grandmother and cousin in Pal during the summers. Alone, I never would have listened so carefully to “Louie, Louie”. She is a patron and a dear.

Barb, Deana, Lindsay, Gerry, Virginia, Linda, Nancy

Barb, Deana, Lindsay, Gerry, Virginia, Linda, Nancy

Barb, Tena, Danny and Lavina

Barb, Tena, Danny and Lavina

Betty, Nancy and Alma

Betty, Nancy and Alma

Virginia, Lavina and Alma are old family friends. Others in these pictures I’ve known forever.  Betty, whom I hadn’t seen for 39 years, drove in from St Louis with pictures of us from 1970. Fun.

Nancy, Mike, Becky the director, Sandy

Nancy, Mike, Becky the director, Sandy

So many folks who helped with this exhibit are deserving of thanks. I am grateful to them and to everyone who took the time to attend the reception. Those who plan to visit the exhibit sometime during the summer are also appreciated.

There’s a long list of folks, including my family, who put effort into making this show happen. I’d especially like to thank: Mary Jo Ragar, Graphic Designer Laura Marshall, the Heritage Seekers of Palmyra, the Gardner House Museum Director, Becky Taylor, and all of her hard working volunteers, the Palmyra Area Arts League, Mark Cheffey at the Palmyra Spectator, Marylou Montgomery at the Hannibal Courier Post and Rebecka Maas at the Quincy Herald-Whig.

Leave a Reply

